Will you have to Install Ignition Interlock on your Car?
The Pennsylvania Ignition Interlock Law has been in effect since October 2003 and directly affects those drivers, including Bucks County drivers, who have been convicted of a second, third or more DUI (driving under the influence) offense in PA.
Under Pennsylvania DUI law those convicted of a subsequent PA DUI (driving under the influence) offense are required to have an ignition interlock system installed for one year on EACH vehicle they own, operate, or lease. A PA DUI offense is considered a subsequent offense if one’s previous offense occurred prior to 6/30/07.
Ignition Interlock is a device that is installed on motor vehicles (by a PennDot authorized installation center) to prohibit drivers who may be under the influence of alcohol (DUI) from operating a vehicle. The driver is required to blow into the device before starting the car. If the ignition interlock device detects alcohol, the vehicle will not start.
The cost of the ignition interlock system is approximately $1,000 per system. It is the responsibility of the convicted DUI defendant to bear the costs of the installation of the ignition interlock system(s).
A PA Ignition Interlock License must be obtained in order to have your driving privileges restored. PA driver’s license restoration fees may also apply.
There is a limited exemption in the Pennsylvania ignition interlock law for employers with employees who have been convicted of a Bucks County DUI-drunk driving offense. Under certain conditions, an employee who is subject to the PA ignition interlock penalty may operate a work vehicle without an ignition interlock device.
An individual is not eligible for the ignition interlock device and necessary PA restricted license until he has completed a mandatory 12-month suspension of his driving privileges. If a person holding an Ignition Interlock License is stopped by the police, the vehicle they are operating must be equipped with the ignition interlock device.
The following penalties apply if a person holding an Ignition Interlock License drives a vehicle without the ignition interlock device installed:
- Fines and imprisonment
- First Offense: ignition interlock period extended 12 months from conviction date;
- Second and Subsequent Offenses: 12 month suspension and must comply
Ignition interlock before they can be restored.
If you are accused of a 2nd or 3rd Bucks County DUI charge, it is important to obtain an experienced local Bucks County DUI attorney such as Michael L. Saile, Jr. of Saile & Saile LLP. Ignition Interlock is just another example of the harsh penalties associated with a 2nd or 3rd or more Bucks County DUI conviction.