A.R.D. Driver License Suspension
In Bucks County, Pennsylvania, the Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition (A.R.D.) program is a 6-month to 1-year-long diversion program. During the A.R.D. program, a Bucks County DUI participant may have to serve a 30-day, 60-day, or 90-day Pennsylvania driver’s license suspension.
If you have been approved for A.R.D., you will be admitted to the A.R.D. program either on the date that your Bucks County DUI case is set for a Pre-Trial Conference or on a date specifically set for your A.R.D. hearing. This hearing process takes place at the Court of Common Pleas. On your hearing date, you must sign an A.R.D. contract with the Bucks County District Attorney. That contract will contain all of the terms of your A.R.D. agreement, including the length of your probation and your driver’s license suspension.
On your A.R.D. entry date, you will also be required to pay the initial A.R.D. admission fee of $1,100. The balance of A.R.D. costs and fines will be due during your probation period. After a Bucks County Common Pleas Court judge admits you into this first-time offender’s program, you must also pay all of your fines and other related costs to the Bucks County Clerk of Criminal Court. This includes any restitution that you may owe if your DUI caused property damage or injuries.
In addition to the A.R.D. entry fee, fines, and restitution, there are many other requirements to complete for acceptance into and successful completion of the Bucks County A.R.D. program. Consult with Saile & Saile LLP to maximize your chance for admittance into the Bucks County A.R.D. program.
It is important to note that as of October 20, 2018, you may no longer surrender your driver’s license to the Court of Common Pleas to begin your suspension. Therefore, your Pennsylvania driver’s license will not be suspended on the day that you are admitted into the A.R.D. program. About a week after your Bucks County DUI Trial date or A.R.D. court date, you will receive a PennDOT letter alerting you to the date that your Pennsylvania driver’s license will be suspended. Click below to check the status of your PennDOT license suspension and restoration requirements:
After you receive the DUI license suspension letter from PennDOT, you must then physically turn in your driver’s license to a PennDOT Service Center on the date indicated. Once you turn in your license, you will begin receiving credit toward your A.R.D. DUI license suspension time. You will not get credit if you do not physically turn in your driver’s license to PennDOT.
Please note that one recent change in Pennsylvania law allows you to get an Ignition Interlock Device while serving your A.R.D. driver’s license suspension. Since suspension for A.R.D. defendants is generally for a short period of time (30 to 90 days), there are many factors to consider before having an Ignition Interlock Device installed in your vehicle. Attorney Caterina Saile of Saile & Saile, LLP stays current on Ignition Interlock law and procedures in Pennsylvania, and is qualified to advise you on the costs, scheduling and procedures associated with obtaining a Pennsylvania Ignition Interlock Limited License and Ignition Interlock Device.